Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

Division Faculty

Bridget Beilein
Assistant Professor, Foreign Language
Education: Bachelor of Arts, Spanish w/minor in French, Michigan State University; Masters of Science,  Secondary Education, Niagara University
Phone: 716-614-6717
Email: brbeilein@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-237

Mark Bonacci, Ph.D., LMSW
Professor; Coordinator, Chemical Dependency Counseling; Coordinator, Human Services
Education: Bachelor of Science, Manhattanville College; Master of Science, New York University; Ph.D. SUNY at Buffalo
Phone: 716-614-6755
Email: bonacci@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-132

Robert Borgatti
Professor; Coordinator, Digital Media
Education: Bachelor of Arts, Niagara University; Master of Science, Syracuse University
Phone: 716-614-6793
Email: borgatti@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: F-141

Barbara Buckman
Professor; Coordinator, Fine Arts
Education: Bachelor of Fine Arts, SUNY College at Buffalo; Master of Fine Arts, Hunter College
Phone: 716-614-5963
Email: bbuckman@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: F-132

Suzanne Buffamanti, Ph.D.
Professor, English
Education: Bachelor of Art, University of Rochester; Master of Art and Ph.D., Purdue University
Honors: State University Chancellor’s Award for Excellence 2007-08.
Phone: 716-614-6715
Email: sbuffama@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-244

Salvatore Catarina
Instructor, Criminal Justice
Education: Bachelor of Arts, Political Science, Syracuse University; Master of Arts, School of Criminal Justice, SUNY Albany
Phone: 716-614-6768
Email: scaterina@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-255

Matthew J. Clarcq, Ph.D.
Professor, History; Liberal Arts & Sciences: Humanities & Social Science Coordinator
Education: Bachelor of Science, SUNY at Geneseo; Master of Science and Ph.D., SUNY at Buffalo
Honors: State University Chancellor’s Award for Excellence, 2011-12
Phone: 716-614-6753
Email: mclarcq@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-130

Donald Fisher, Ph.D.
Professor, History
Education: Bachelor of Arts, St. John Fisher College; Master of Arts and Ph.D., SUNY at Buffalo
Phone: 716-614-6759
Email: fisher@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-131

Michele Hamilton
Professor, Childhood Education; Coordinator, Liberal Arts and Sciences: Humanities and Social Sciences (Jointly Registered With SUNY College At Buffalo – Childhood Education 1-6 BS); Coordinator, Liberal Arts & Sciences: TESOL (Jointly Registered with Niagara University); Coordinator, Teaching Assistant
Education: Associate in Arts, Niagara County Community College; Bachelor of Science, Buffalo State College; Master of Science, SUNY at Buffalo
Honors: State University Chancellor’s Award for Excellence, 1987-1989.
Phone: 716-614-6708
Email: mhamilton@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-227

Katherine Johnson, Ph.D.
Professor, Sociology
Education: Bachelor of Science, Buffalo State College; Master of Science and Ph.D., SUNY at Buffalo
Phone: 716-614-6812
Email: johnson@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-132

Rebekah Keaton, Ph.D.
Professor, English
Education: Bachelor of Art, SUNY at Buffalo; Master of Art and Ph.D., Michigan State University
Honors: SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, 2019-2020
Phone: 716-614-6809
Email: rkeaton@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-229

Nancy Knechtel
Professor, Fine Arts
Education: Bachelor of Arts, SUNY College at Buffalo; Master of Arts and Humanities, SUNY at Buffalo
Honors: SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1992-93
Phone:716-614-5967
Email: knechtel@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: F-140

Pamela Lange
Assistant Professor, Academic Achievement
Coordinator, Honors Institute
Education: Bachelor of Science, Childhood Education, Buffalo State College; Master of Science, Literacy Specialist (Birth-Grade 12)
Phone: 716-614-6877
Email: plange@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-227

Yu Liu, Ph.D.
Professor, English
Education: Bachelor of Art, Loyang Foreign Languages Institute, China; Master of Art, Lancaster University, UK; Master of Science, Edinburgh University, UK; Ph.D., SUNY at Buffalo
Honors: SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, 2009-2010
Phone: 716-614-6712
Email: liu@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-228

Robert Morris
Professor, English; Division Chair
Education: Bachelor of Art, Presbyterian College, SC; Master of Art, University of North Carolina
Honors: SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, 1996-97
Phone: 716-614-6720
Email: morris@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-238

John Morse, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Humanities
Education: Bachelor of Art, Boston College; Master of Art, University of Puerto Rico; Ph.D., SUNY at Buffalo; Juris Doctor, St. John’s University
Phone: 716-614-6804
Email: jmorse@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-248

James Murphy, Ph.D.
Professor, English
Education: Bachelor of Art, Canisius College; Ph.D., Fordham University
Phone: 716-614-6725
Email: jmurphy@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-256

Cindy Oberjosh, Ed.D.
Professor; Coordinator, Disability Studies; Coordinator, Early Childhood Studies
Education: Associate in Applied Science, Niagara County Community College; Bachelor of Science, SUNY at Buffalo; Master of Science, Canisius College; Ed.D., Nova Southeastern University
Phone: 716-614-6756
Email: oberjosh@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-128

Rama Parai
Professor, Economics
Education: Bachelor of Science and Master of Science, University of Burdwan, India; Master of Business Administration, Case Western Reserve University
Phone: 716-614-6409
Email: rparai@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-131

Marc Pietrzykowski, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Humanities
Education: Bachelor of Arts, Empire State College; Master of Fine Arts and Ph.D., Georgia State University
Honors: SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, 2013-2014
Phone: 716-614-6807
Email: mpietrzykowski@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-228

Amanda D. Pollard
Associate Professor, Sociology
Education: Bachelor of Science and Master of Science, SUNY at Buffalo
Phone: 716-614-6885
Email: apollard@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-126

Paul Ratka
Assistant Professor, Economics
Education: Bachelor of Arts, Daemen College; Master of Arts, Economics, University at Buffalo
Phone: 716-614-6758
Email: pratka@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-126

Kenneth Rowe
Instructor, Animation
Education: Bachelor of Arts, Buffalo State College; Master of Arts, Univ. of Buffalo
Phone: 716-614-5962
Email: krowe@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: F-136

Elizabeth Sachs, Ph.D.
Professor, English
Education: Bachelor of Science, St. Olaf College; Master of Art. University of Illinois; Ph.D. University of Wisconsin-Madison
Honors: SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, 2004-2005
Phone: 716-614-6716
Email: sachs@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-229

Laura Scaletta
Professor, Psychology
Education: Bachelor of Science, Brock University; Master of Science, SUNY at Buffalo
Phone: 716-614-6767
Email: scaletta@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-127

Joseph Schmidt
Associate Professor; Coordinator, Audio Recording and Production; Coordinator of Music
Education: Bachelor of Arts, SUNY at Buffalo
Phone: 716-614-5971
Email: schmidt@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: F-131

Harsh Sharma, Ph.D.
Professor, English
Education: Bachelor of Arts and Master’s of Philosophy, Punjab State University, India; Master of Arts and Ph.D., SUNY at Buffalo
Phone: 716-614-6723
Email: sharma@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-226

Theodore P. Skotnicki
Professor, Criminal Justice
Education: Bachelor of Science, Niagara University; Master of Science, University of Chicago, Master of Science, Nelson A. Rockefeller School of Public Affairs, SUNY at Albany
Phone: 716-614-6749
Email: skotnick@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-247

Ian Stapley, Ph.D.
Professor, English
Education: Bachelor of Science, Master of Science and Ph.D., SUNY at Buffalo
Phone: 716-614-6722
Email: stapley@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-254

Marissa Pytlak-Surdyke, Ph.D.
Instructor; Coordinator, Communication Studies
Education: Bachelor of Arts, Communication Studies, SUNY Oswego; Master of Arts, Communication
Studies, Texas State University-San Marcos; Ph.D., Curriculum, Instruction and the Science of Learning, SUNY Buffalo
Phone: 716-614-6742
Email: mpytlak@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: B-124

Christina M. Taylor
Assistant Professor, Psychology
Education: Bachelor of Arts, Niagara University; Master of Arts, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Phone: 716-614-6766
Email: ctaylor@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-129

Donald Topolski
Professor; Coordinator, Theatre Arts
Education: Master of Science, SUNY at Buffalo; Bachelor of Science, SUNY at Binghamton  
Phone:
 716-614-5961
Email: topolski@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: B-213

Robert Warner
Professor, Psychology
Education: Bachelor of Science, Arizona State University; Master of Science, SUNY at Geneseo
Honors: State University Chancellor’s Award for Excellence, 1995-96.
Phone: 716-614-6757
Email: warner@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-249

Contact

Robert Morris
Division Chair
Phone: 716-614-6710 (E-238)
Email: morris@niagaracc.suny.edu
Location: E-238