Skip to main content
A community college sponsored by Niagara County

© 2019 SUNY Niagara | All rights reserved.

Distinguished Student Scholars

August 20, 2021 

Five Niagara County high school students have been selected to receive the SUNY Niagara Foundation’s Distinguished Student Scholarship. This award is the most prestigious scholarship offered by the SUNY Niagara Foundation to incoming freshmen. It provides two years of tuition-free education to deserving students. The individuals were selected based on their academic excellence, service to the community, and loyalty to Niagara County.

Students were selected from Royalton-Hartland High School, Mercy Walker (Nursing) and Mackenzie White (Horticulture); North Tonawanda High School, Gina Krolewski (Fine Arts); Starpoint High School, Bridget Hersee (Criminal Justice); and Lewiston-Porter High School, Jillian Donovan (Accounting). “It is with great honor and happiness that I accept this award,” says Bridget. “I truly appreciate your generosity and am looking forward to starting at SUNY Niagara in the Fall!”

During the 2020-2021 academic year, over $175,000 was awarded to nearly 200 deserving students. Please visit the SUNY Niagara website at for a full listing of available scholarships. The deadline to apply for Spring 2022 is Friday, October 15, 2021.

The Distinguished Student Scholarship recipients are typically honored during the SUNY Niagara Foundation’s Annual Scholarship Gala. However, due to COVID-19, this year’s recipients will be honored at next year’s Foundation Scholarship Diamond Gala on Saturday, October 22, 2022, which kicks off SUNY Niagara’s 60th Anniversary! Instead, for this year only, guests are invited to join virtually throughout October to celebrate and invest in SUNY Niagara’s student scholarships and success! For more information, please contact the SUNY Niagara Foundation Office at 716-614-5910 or online at

From left to right: Jillian Donovan, Mercy Walker, Gina Krolewski, Mackenzie White, and Bridget Hersee.

Media Contact Information

Allison Korta
Assistant Director, Foundation
Phone: 716-614-5910